40 meals for 40 nights in ONE day……

I have heard so much about the idea of cooking a months worth of meals in one day. This idea definitely caught my attention. Now that I am back to working full time our schedule has become so insane. I have to be out the door by 7 am to get to work by 8 am Monday through Friday. I work until 5 pm and then it is 6 om before I am back home. Unless I have any stops to make along the way. We have been spending our weekends gone for the most part. Either up in Vegas with the family…. I can’t get enough of that new baby! Or up at our Favorite place, The Ranch. So needless to say I feel we are never home…. Oh and did I mention that fact that I am STILL in School? Oh yea, getting a degree in English and that in itself is very demanding on the free time that I simply do not have.By the time I get home on the weeknights I have to pull together something to feed us. This will often require a stop at the grocery store, only increasing how long it takes me to finally get back home. There are always dishes to wash, and cleaning to do, but I am struggling to find time to get my homework done as well. I am feeling overwhelmed and just plain exhausted. So I have taken a break from school. I am taking January off from everything except work. (since my bills wont let me have January off from them too) The first project to help me is to jump right into the concept of cooking for a month in a day. I have had some great tips and advice come my way from Max and Jessica Kamai who has been doing this kind of prep cooking for a while. (Thank You Jessica for your tips!) So I have created my menu,complied recipes, gone through what I had on hand, made out a grocery list and I am jumping in head first tomorrow! My list has stretched to become a 40 dinner plan because I needed it to go further because my school break will end at the beginning of February and I did not want to run out of dinners in the freezer just when my next class starts. That would be CrAzY! So I wanted to share this experiment and how it works.  Here is the menu.

Enchiladas, Refried Beans, Spanish Rice

Meatloaf, Mashed Potatoes, Brown Gravy, Corn, Roll

Cheesey Chicken Rice, Broccoli, Corn, Roll

Tacos, Refried Beans, Spanish Rice

Lasagne, Salad, garlic bread

Chicken Fried Steak, Mashed Potatoes Cream gravy, corn, Green Beans Biscuits.

Shish~Ka~Bobs with rice

Tamale Pie, Salad

Beefy Noodle Bake, Corn, Broccoli, Salad, roll

Chimichangas, Refried Beans, Spanish Rice

Ashley Springs Chicken, Twice Baked Potatoes

Beans and Rice

Pan Seared Pork Chops, Mashed Potatoes, Corn

Teriyaki Chicken, Pineapple, Stirfry veggies, White Rice

Tex Mex Chicken Bake, Corn Muffins, Salad

BBQ Beef, Mac and Cheese, Cowboy Beans

Buffalo Chicken Casserole, Twice Baked Potatoes, Corn, roll

Mongolian Beef, Stir fried Green Beans, White Rice

Bean and Cheese Burritos, Taco Salad

Creamy Italian Chicken, Parmesan Risotto, Sauteed Mushrooms, Corn, Garlic Bread

Each of these dishes will be made in 2 portions and be repeated. So the big plan is to break down what is needed for each dish. Make dinner packs and label them. Pop them in my freezer, each week add the fresh ingredients required such as salads and follow the list. I won’t have to worry about what is for dinner because it is already planned and in the freezer waiting. Some of my dinner choices are old tried and true recipes and there are a couple new ones in there. I will keep a list of what works and what doesn’t as well as what get great reviews and what flops. So Stay Tuned…….   Next will be the Shopping and Prepping Post! I will start including recipes as well.

Leave a Reply

